Ludum Dare 35 – April 2016: Looking pretty shifty…

Oh boy, it’s Ludum Dare time again! Grab some snacks, kick back, and let’s make some games!

0 Hours in

Theme
Ooh, interesting~

Alright, neat. Let’s grab the ol’ marker pens and giant pieces of paper, and get some ideas down.

Countdown
I’ve even got a timer on my desktop this time, just in case…

4 Hours in

Phew, alright. I’ve got some stuff working already, but it’s just the bare bones right now. I’ll catch some sleep for a few hours, and when I get back, I’ll let you know if I still like the idea. If not, it’ll be time for a-scrappin’!

…But that can wait until after bed…

10 Hours in

I’m back up at it, and having slept on it, I can say for sure that I don’t hate my idea. For now, I need to implement the main mechanic (expanding and contracting through holes), and once that’s done, I’ve got some pretty cool ideas in mind.

15 Hours in

Well, I spent a couple of hours working on a feature that just didn’t work, so it looks like I’ll have to do it the hard way.

“What is it?” you ask?

Well, you’ll just have to wait and find out!

EarlyShift
Oh yeah, and here’s a quick in-dev GIF for you~

 17 Hours in

Break time! I’ve still got a couple of things to iron out as far as game-play goes, but for now, I need something to eat.

22 Hours in

We’re coming up on the halfway point, and I’m making pretty decent progress. The game is really very simple, but hopefully over the next 24 hours I can polish it up a bit.

For the moment though, here’s the working title!

LogoLarge

25 Hour in

I’m getting a little sleepy again, so here’s a bit of the “polish” I mentioned earlier.

MidShift
It’s.. a title screen, I think?

I think it’s starting to come together quite well, if I do say so myself. Tomorrow is a day for a few tweaks to the game-play, and perhaps some music too…

I know I always say I’ll add music, but this time, I really mean it!

31 Hours in

Good morning LDers! It’s weirdly sunny here right now; I can see while people wake up before midday if it’s always like this…

The main goals over the next few hours are particle effects and sound, and then once that’s done, take a look a music.

35 Hours in

The last few hours have been pretty productive; I’ve done particles, game over screens and some basic sound effects. I just need to tighten up a couple of things, and then we’ll break for lunch~

40 Hours in

I had to spend a bit of time re-hashing the code for scoring (which I somehow screwed up last night), but now it works like a charm. Now there’s just a few minor things to add, and we’ll be done.

Music

Oh yeah, I really DID add music this time around!

The only problem is, I can’t tell if it’s catchy, or if I’ve just been working on it for too long…

44 Hours in

Aaand we’re done, with 4 hours to spare. I think that’s a personal Ludum Dare first; I normally go right up to the wire.
…I guess I could try and add a new feature or three. I’ve got plenty of time, right?

 

Well, maybe not. Either way, here’s a final game-play GIF.

LateShift.gif
Man, you’re missing out on some sweet music right about now…

If you like, you can download it from Itch.io or check it out on the Ludum Dare website!

 

Leave a Reply

