GotM Feb ’11 – Pokemon HeartGold and SoulSilver

I’ve been playing quite a bit this last month, although it was mostly Minecraft… Anyway, in honor of the new Pokémon games coming out in the next few days, I played Pokémon HeartGold and SoulSilver.

Pokemon HeartGold and SoulSilver

I love Pokémon. I love the 2nd generation of Pokémon especially. And so, I love the re-makes of Gold and Silver. I remember the days spent playing the original games on Gameboy Colour, and thinking it was the best thing ever. And then, in March last year, I was training my Totodile , getting phone calls from Youngster Joey about his Rattata, and catching the Red Gyarados all over again. And it was still the best thing ever. Then replaying the game again last month, it was still the best game ever. The music has been remixed, the graphics updated and the battle system changed from the originals, but it still feels like the game I played when I was 9.  It’s weird to see just how much difference a decade can make, but in then end, nothing has changed. It’s still great.

HeartGold and SoulSilver are the latest Pokémon games… At least for the next 3 days, until Pokémon Black and White are released in the UK. From what I’ve seen, the 5th generation could end up being the best so far, but it does pose a question… Will Black and White get re-makes 10 years down the line?

Leave a Reply

